Research only
All of
ALZ.ORG Research Center Alzheimer's Association International Conference ISTAART Journal Grants TrialMatch Press Donate Contact

Awards Presented at AAIC 2013

AAIC provides the Alzheimer's Association with the opportunity to present awards to some of the best and brightest leaders in the field.

These prestigious awards recognize the work of distinguished Alzheimer's researchers, as well as those who are just beginning their career in this vital field. The Association is proud to celebrate the individuals who have made significant contributions to further the vision of a world without Alzheimer's disease.

We congratulate all the honorees and thank them for their tireless work on behalf of the millions worldwide affected by Alzheimer's. Their dedication and drive has helped to make made significant advances in the Alzheimer's research field, and it is our pleasure to recognize their efforts.

Lifetime Achievement Awards in Alzheimer's Disease Research

Henry Wisniewski, M.D., Ph.D., Khalid Iqbal, Ph.D., and Bengt Winblad, M.D., Ph.D., were the founders of AAIC in 1988. Lifetime Achievement Awards named in their honor are given to three outstanding scientists who have dedicated their careers to helping millions around the world through their research.

2013 Recipient
Henry Wisniewski Lifetime Achievement Award
Ronald C. Petersen, Ph.D., M.D.


2013 Recipient
Khalid Iqbal Award Lifetime Achievement Award
Eva-Maria Mandelkow, M.D., Ph.D.
Eckhard Mandelkow, Ph.D.


2013 Recipient
Bengt Winblad Lifetime Achievement Award
Laura Fratiglioni, M.D., Ph.D.


Zaven Khachaturian Award

This distinguished award, named in honor of Dr. Zaven Khachaturian, was established to recognize an individual whose compelling vision, selfless dedication and extraordinary achievement has significantly advanced the field of Alzheimer's science.

2013 Recipient
William H. Thies, Ph.D.


Jerome H. Stone Philanthropy Award for Alzheimer's Research

The Jerome H. Stone Philanthropy Award for Alzheimer's Research honors the legacy of a unique and determined individual who was among the first to call for investment in Alzheimer's research — Mr. Jerome H. Stone, who took to the helm of the Alzheimer's cause in loving memory of his late wife Evelyn T. Stone. Mr. Stone is the primary founder of the Alzheimer's Association and is renowned for his vision, leadership and generosity in support of the fight against Alzheimer's, and research in particular.

This award honors the world's top philanthropists for actively engaging in changing the course of Alzheimer's disease through their generous commitment to research.

2013 Recipient
The Zenith Society


de Leon Prize in Neuroimaging

This award, presented by the ISTAART Neuroimaging Professional Interest Area (NPIA), carries for the best papers published in any peer reviewed journal. Both awards carry unrestricted prizes and will be presented during the 2013 Alzheimer's Imaging Consortium (AIC)

The de Leon Prize in Neuroimaging - Senior Scientist

An unrestricted prize of $5,000 in recognition of the "best paper" published in any peer-reviewed journal between July 1, 2012 and June 30, 2013.

Senior Scientist
Victor L. Villemagne, Ph.D.
Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health, The University of Melbourne
For the paper entitled: "Amyloid ß deposition, neurodegeneration, and cognitive decline in sporadic Alzheimer’s disease: a prospective cohort study"


The de Leon Prize in Neuroimaging - New Investigator

An unrestricted prize of $1,000 awarded to the "best paper" published by a promising new investigator in any peer-reviewed journal between July 1, 2012 and June 30, 2013.

New Investigator
Manja Lehmann, Ph.D.
Dementia Research Centre, University College London
For the paper entitled: "Diverging patterns of amyloid deposition and hypometabolism in clinical variants of probable Alzheimer’s disease"

Alzheimer's Imaging Consortium Best Oral and Poster Presentations

The following AIC attendees received recognition for their oral and poster presentations.

AIC 2013 Best Oral Presentation

"The Effects of Aging on Whole Brain Functional Connectivity"
Matthew Brier, Jewell Thomas, Liang Wang, Tammie Benzinger, John Morris, Beau Ances

AIC 2013 Best Poster Presentation

"In-Vivo Visualization of Tau Pathology"
Hitoshi Shimada, Makoto Higuchi, Yoko Ikoma, Hitoshi Shinotoh, Shogo Furukawa, Sho Moriguchi, Yogo Eguchi, Tsuyoshi Nogami, Tomohisa Nagashima, Masayuki Suzuki, Keisuke Takahata, Kenji Sasaki, Fumitoshi Kodaka, Hironobu Fujiwara, Yasuyuki Kimura, Makiko Yamada, Masahiro Maruyama, Harumasa Takano, Ming-Rong Zhang, Satoshi Kuwabara, Hiroshi Ito, Tetsuya Suhara

AAIC 2013 program

View the 2013 schedule and conference program.

Registered attendees have exclusive access to the 2013 AAIC mobile app with full speaker and session listings as well as abstract content. Attendees can email for download instructions.

Make history at AAIC 2013 • Boston, MA • July 13-18, 2013