Research only
All of
ALZ.ORG Research Center Alzheimer's Association International Conference ISTAART Journal Grants TrialMatch Press Donate Contact

Awards presented at AAIC

AAIC provides the Alzheimer's Association with the opportunity to present awards to some of the most prominent leaders in the field.

These prestigious awards recognize the work of distinguished Alzheimer's researchers, as well as those who are just beginning their career in this vital field. The Association is proud to celebrate the individuals who have made significant contributions to further the vision of a world without Alzheimer's disease.


AAIC Lifetime Achievement Awards in Alzheimer's Disease Research

Honor significant fundamental contributions to Alzheimer’s research, either through a single scientific discovery or a body of work, by nominating someone for the AAIC Lifetime Achievement Awards. These awards recognize a senior investigator whose contributions, whether they have been in research, leadership or mentorship, have shown a lasting impact on the field and whose body of work has demonstrated a lifetime commitment towards progress against Alzheimer’s and dementia.

The awards are named in honor of Henry Wisniewski, M.D., Ph.D.; Khalid Iqbal, Ph.D.; and Bengt Winblad, M.D., Ph.D.—co-founders of the Alzheimer's Association scientific conference, now known as the Alzheimer's Association International Conference (AAIC). Since its inception and first iteration they each held key leadership roles in planning and conceptualizing the conference:

The awards will be presented at AAIC 2016. The nomination period has closed.

Eligibility Criteria

Inge Grundke-Iqbal Award for Alzheimer's Research

The Alzheimer’s Association is seeking nominations for the Inge Grundke-Iqbal Award for Alzheimer’s Research, which will be presented at the AAIC 2016. The award will be presented to the senior author of the most impactful study published in Alzheimer’s research over the preceding two years.

Eligibility Criteria

Nomination Criteria

  1. Senior Author's* First and Last Name:
  2. Senior Author's Organization/Institution:
  3. Article Title:
  4. Journal Name:
  5. Publication Month/Year (note the eligible publication period for AAIC 2016: Jan. 1, 2014, through Dec. 31, 2015)
  6. Publication Volume, Issue (if available), Pages:
  7. Briefly describe the impact of the study on the field (50-200 words):

* Note, we are seeking nominations of the senior author of the study, regardless of the order of authorship on the publication.

About Dr. Inge Grundke-Iqbal

Inge Grundke-Iqbal served as Professor and Head of Neuroimmunology at the New York State Institute for Basic Research in Developmental Disabilities from 1977 until her passing in September 2012. She was a world renowned neuroscientist and Alzheimer disease researcher. She was author/co-author of over 250 scientific publications in prestigious American and international journals and books. Dr. Grundke-Iqbal made several seminal discoveries in the biology of Alzheimer’s disease and related conditions. Her discovery of the abnormal hyperphosphorylation of tau opened a whole new area of research in neurodegeneration, especially Alzheimer’s disease and related tauopathies. Her research contributions won her several U.S. Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health and non-federal research grants and honors. Dr. Grundke-Iqbal served as a member of the International Scientific Advisory Committee of the International Conference on Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders (now known as the Alzheimer’s Association International Conference).

Award Details

Selection Process

A short list will be selected from all nominees by the AAIC Scientific Program Committee (SPC). The recipient will be selected by the SPC Executive Committee.

de Leon Prize in Neuroimaging

The de Leon Prize in Neuroimaging recognizes a senior scientist and a new investigator (first authors) who are judged to have each published the best paper in any peer-reviewed journal related to the topic of in-vivo neuroimaging of a neurodegenerative process. Members of the ISTAART Neuroimaging Professional Interest Area (NPIA) are the nominating body for the two awards.

Eligibility Requirements

Nominees should be the first author of the best paper published on the topic of in-vivo neuroimaging of a neurodegenerative process in any peer-reviewed journal between Jan. 1, 2015 – Dec. 31, 2015. One award is designated for a senior scientist (*) and a second award is designated for a new investigator (+).

The awards will be presented at the Alzheimer's Imaging Consortium (AIC), hosted in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, on July 23, 2016.

Alzheimer's Imaging Consortium (AIC) best oral and poster presentations

Using review scores as a guide, the AIC Chairs will judge and select the best oral and poster presentation onsite. Interest is collected during the abstract submission process, which is now closed.


AAIC student and post-doc poster competition

Competitions are held in each conference program theme to determine the best posters by students and post-docs at AAIC. Judging takes place onsite by the Scientific Program Committee and the winners will be recognized at the conference. Interest is collected during the abstract submission process, which is now closed.

Download the AAIC App

Be sure to download the AAIC 2016 app – now available in the iTunes app store and Google Play store for your smartphone or tablet. Also available as a desktop planner, this valuable tool allows you to view session listings, receive daily updates, view abstracts and more!

Where the world reveals the latest dementia research • Register now