Vote Now
Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

About UseNewsletterMessage BoardsAction CenterAdvocateWalk to End Alzheimer’sShopDonate

Find your chapter:

search by state

In My Community
About Our Chapter
Text Size controlsNormal font sizeMedium font sizeLarge font size

Areas we serve
Office locations and Staff Directory


About Us

The Alzheimer’s Association, Central Ohio Chapter is committed to meeting the needs of persons affected by Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia through family and clinical support, education, advocacy, and research. 

The Alzheimer's Association, Central Ohio Chapter is a non-profit organization supported in part by the Ohio Department of Aging, Franklin County Senior Options, Council for Older Adults of Delaware County, and Union County Senior Services.  Funding for programs and services is achieved through individual, foundation, and corporate support as well as fundraising events.

All services are provided without regard to race, age, color, religion, sex, disability, national origin or ancestry.

Our mission
To eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research; to provide and enhance care and support for all affected; and to reduce the risk of dementia through the promotion of brain health.

Our vision
A world without Alzheimer's disease.

 

JOB OPENINGS as of 6/16/2014

Helpline Coordinator:  The Alzheimer’s Association, Central Ohio Chapter provides family and clinical support and education to those affected by Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias.  The following part-time (24 hours per week) opportunity exists for a social worker who is interested in being part of our interdisciplinary team. Duties include providing education and supportive counseling to caregivers and persons living with Alzheimer’s disease, provide updated, comprehensive and reliable information to clients and staff members concerning all issues pertaining to Alzheimer’s disease, create a monthly Helpline schedule and communicate with the National Office’s Contact Center and provide follow-up by mail, telephone and/or e-mail. Bachelor’s degree in Social Work with current license and experience with the geriatric population required.  Individuals may email resumes to mdannhauer@alz.org or fax to attention: Mari Dannhauer at 614-457-6634. 


 

Financial Information

The Alzheimer's Association, Central Ohio Chapter is a tax-exempt, 501(c)3 nonprofit, donor-supported organization. Programs and services are made possible through contributions from individuals, corporations and foundations. The chapter uses more than 75% of our funds raised for programs, services and research efforts.

Click here to view a pdf of Form 990.

Click here to view our most recent annual report.

Click here to view a pdf of our most recent Audit. 

Board of Directors – Central Ohio Chapter

 

Officers

John P. Petro, President 
    Williams & Petro Co., LLC
    jpetro@wplaw.org
Patrick Kelly, Vice President
    Huntington 
    Patrick.Kelly@huntington.com
Jim Keim, Treasurer
    Jim Keim Ford
    keimjim@aol.com
Bill Black, Secretary
    Alliance Data
    bill_black@wowway.com
Greg Comfort, Immediate Past President 
    EMH&T
    gcomfort@emht.com

Board Members

John Burkhart, MD
    Retired, Riverside Hospital
Peter Bury, CPA
    Riverside Hospital
    pbury2@ohiohealth.com
Scott Claunch, RPh
    Cardinal Health
    Scott.claunch@cardinalhealth.com
Carol Dreska
    Limited Brands
    cdreska@limitedbrands.com
Jim Flynn
    Bricker & Eckler
    jflynn@bricker.com
Gloria Groat
    Decorative Painter/CR Caromal Colours
    fujimo3us@yahoo.com
Joanie Johnson
    Edinburgh Garden/Owner
    joaniejohnson1@aol.com
Chris S. Joos
    Plante & Moran, PLLC
    chris.joos@plantemoran.com
Pam Liebert
    Community Volunteer
    pliebert@columbus.rr.com
Scott McKim
    Nationwide Bank
    Mckims1@nationwide.com
Jeffrey Milks, MD
    PERSONAL MD
    jwmilks@aol.com
Tyus Nedd, Pastor
    International Christian Center
    tnedd@inti-cc.org
Sue Reninger
    RMD Advertising
    reninger@RMDadvertising.com
Jeanny Simaitis
    Nationwide
    simaitj1@nationwide.com
Charlie Smith
    Charles D. Smith & Assoc. LLC
    csmith@charlesdsmithlaw.com
Chuck White
    Media Consultant
    chuckwhite35@gmail.com
John Wiseman
    Mortgage Guaranty Insurance
    john_wiseman@mgic.com
Mike Zieg
    Nobile & Thompson Co., LPA
    MZieg@krgre.com

Our History

The Alzheimer's Association, Central Ohio Chapter started in 1979 as an informal group of volunteers and caregivers concerned about the care provided for individuals living with Alzheimer's disease. These visionaries were charter members of the National Alzheimer's Disease and Related Disorders Association headquartered in Chicago and the Public Policy Office in Washington D.C. The Association has since developed into an organization that reaches thousands of people each year through clinical, education and direct patient care programs.


 

Join or start a team today.

Find a Walk

Washington Alaska Texas Washington Oregon California Idaho Nevada Arizona Utah Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico Oklahoma Kansas Nebraska South Dakota North Dakota Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Mississippi Illinois Wisconsin Michigan Indiana Kentucky Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Virginia West Virginia Ohio Maine Pennsylvania New York Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey onClick= Delaware Maryland Hawaii Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Delaware Maryland Washington D.C.
Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.