Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

About UseNewsletterMessage BoardsAction CenterAdvocateWalk to End Alzheimer’sShopDonate

Find your chapter:

search by state

In My Community
Connect with us:


Education Symposium
Text Size controlsNormal font sizeMedium font sizeLarge font size

Alzheimer's Association Annual Education Symposium

25th Annual Education Symposium & Early Stage Forum

Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Denver Marriott Tech Center

This one-day symposium, Strategies for Alzheimer’s, Dementia & Memory Loss brings together experts on Alzheimer’s who will help transform the way we think about this disease.  The symposium will offer local and national speakers who have revolutionized our ideas about public policy and advocacy, research and treatment, and person-centered care for people with Alzheimer’s disease. Join us for this dynamic and innovative day as we discover strategies for living with and providing care for those with Alzheimer’s, other forms of dementia and memory loss.

 Symposium Highlights Include:

25 Years in Alzheimer's Care: A Retrospective
Hot Topics for Healthcare Professionals
Caregiving for Men: A Panel Presentation
Cultural Competency in Dementia Care
Harnessing the Power of Music for Health and Healing in Later Life
Working with Law Enforcement
Not Everyone Has Alzheimer's: Understanding Different Types of Dementia

Additional Resources

Do you have early stage memory loss, dementia, or Alzheimer's?

Learn about our specially designed workshops for people with early stage memory loss at our Early Stage Forum.
Contact Kera Magarill
 for more information.

2014 Excellence in Caregiving Award

Each year the Colorado Chapter of the Alzheimer’s Association gives the “George and Pat Sugerman Excellence in Caregiving Award” to a professional caregiver who provides outstanding care to people with Alzheimer’s disease. We rely on your nominations to identify these exceptional caregivers.

Each nominee will be recognized during the 2014 Annual Alzheimer’s Association Education Symposium. This year our Symposium will be held on Tuesday, November 18, at the Marriott Denver Tech Center in Denver. The winner of the award will receive a cash award, a plaque and recognition in the Alzheimer’s Association newsletter. 

Guidelines for Nomination:

  • Family or friends of individuals receiving care must make nominations.
  • Nominees should provide direct care to people with Alzheimer’s. Please do not nominate supervisory personnel such as nurses and/or activity directors.
  • You may wish to nominate more than one person.  However, you must use a separate form for each person as this award is for an individual, not a group of individuals.
  • Nominations must be received by Friday, October 10th.  Please use the attached nomination form.
  • Return nominations to the Alzheimer’s Association, 455 Sherman Street, #500, Denver, CO 80203 or fax the nomination to 303-813-1670 or Amelia Schafer at

Supporting your Nomination:

Be sure to explain why the person you are nominating should receive this award. What makes them special?  What do they do which goes beyond what would normally be expected? The selection of the award winner is based on these explanations as well as the number of nominations received for that person. View a video of the 2014 nominees.

2014 Sugerman Family Letter             2014 Sugerman Nomination Form

2014 winner Mary Nazzaro

Sugerman Award Winner


Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.