Vote Now
Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

About UseNewsletterMessage BoardsAction CenterAdvocateWalk to End Alzheimer’sShopDonate

Find your chapter:

search by state

In My Community
About Our Chapter
Text Size controlsNormal font sizeMedium font sizeLarge font size

About Us

The Alzheimer’s Association - Florida Gulf Coast Chapter

Our Mission
To eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research; to provide and enhance care and support for all affected; and to reduce the risk of dementia through the promotion of brain health.

Our Vision
A world without Alzheimer's disease.

Financial Information

The Alzheimer's Association - Florida Gulf Coast Chapter is a tax-exempt, 501(c)(3) nonprofit, donor-supported organization. Programs and services are made possible through contributions from individuals, corporations and foundations. The chapter uses 83% of all funds raised for programs, services and research efforts.

Annual Report

Click here to open Annual Report

Chapter Staff (alphabetical listing)

Click here for a list of office locations

Gloria Smith, President & CEO
smithg@alzflgulf.org
14010 Roosevelt Blvd., #709
Clearwater, FL 33762-3862
Office: 727-578-2558 x 123
Fax: 727-578-2286

Chuck Albrecht, MBA, COO
albrechtc@alzflgulf.org
14010 Roosevelt Blvd., #709
Clearwater, FL 33762-3862
Office: 727-578-2558 x 121
Fax: 727-578-2286

Lisa Milne, Vice President of Programs
milnel@alzflgulf.org
14010 Roosevelt Blvd., #709
Clearwater, FL 33762-3862
Office: 727-578-2558 x 133
Fax: 727-578-2286

Cindy Canales, Program Specialist
canalesc@alzflgulf.org
134 N. Ridgewood Drive, Suite 17
Sebring, FL 33870
Office: 863-385-3444
Fax: 863-385-0305
Or mailing to: P.O. Box 1901
Sebring, FL 33871

Catherine Cruikshank, PhD, Regional Director of Education / Program Specialist
ccruikshank@alz.org
Sunshine Professional Center
8220 Bonita Beach Road
Suite # 223
Bonita Beach, FL 34135
Office: 239-405-7008
Fax: 239-405-7038

Melinda Faires, Receptionist & Volunteer Coordinator
fairesm@alzflgulf.org
14010 Roosevelt Blvd., #709
Clearwater, FL 33762-3862
Office: 727-578-2558 x 120
Fax: 727-578-2286

Jerry Fisher, M.S.W., Program Specialist
fisherj@alzflgulf.org
4108 Lamson Avenue
Spring Hill, FL 34608
Office: 352-688-4537
Fax: 352-688-2291

Sue Fox, Program Specialist
foxs@alzflgulf.org
3277A Fruitville Road, Suite 1
Sarasota, FL 34237
Office: 941-365-8883
Fax: 941-365-8885

Lance Funkhouser, Development Fundraising Manager
funkhouserl@alzflgulf.org
3277-A Fruitville Road, Suite 1
Sarasota, FL  34237
Office: 941-365-8883
Fax: 941-365-8885

Katie Hood,
Director of Development
hoodk@alzflgulf.org
14010 Roosevelt Blvd., #709
Clearwater, FL 33762-3862
Office: 727-578-2558 x128
Fax: 727-578-2286

Allison Horsley, Program Specialist
horsleya@alzflgulf.org
3277A Fruitville Road, Suite 1
Sarasota, FL 34237
Office: 941-365-8883
Fax: 941-365-8885

Linda Howard, Program Specialist
howardl@alzflgulf.org
4075 Tamiami Trail, #2
Port Charlotte, Fl 33952
Office: 941-235-7470
Fax: 941-235-7473

Tiffany Kane, Development Project Manager
kanet@alzlgulf.org
14010 Roosevelt Blvd Suite 709
Clearwater, FL 33762-3862
Office: 727-578-2558 x 129
Fax: 727-578-2286

Karla Lindeen, Program Specialist
lindeenk@alzflgulf.org
14010 Roosevelt Blvd, Suite 709
Clearwater, FL  33762
Office: 727-578-2558 x 137
Fax: 727-578-2286


Peggy Macaluso, Director of Client Advocacy/Program Specialist
Macalusop@alzflgulf.org
14010 Roosevelt Blvd., #709
Clearwater, FL 33762-3862
Office: 727-578-2558 x 130
Fax: 727-578-2286

Craig Mayers, Development Fundraising Manager
mayersc@alzflgulf.org
14010 Roosevelt Blvd., #709
Clearwater, FL  33762-3862
Office: 727-578-2558 x 134
Fax: 727-578-2286

Patty Owens, Accounting Specialist
owensp@alzflgulf.org
14010 Roosevelt Blvd., #709
Clearwater, FL 33762-3862
Office: 727-578-2558 x124
Fax: 727-578-2286

Nancy Parente, Senior Bilingual Services Specialist
parenten@alzflgulf.org
14010 Roosevelt Blvd., #709
Clearwater, FL 33762-3862
Office: 727-578-2558 x 126
Fax: 727-578-2286

Emily Reese, Program Specialist
reesee@alzflgulf.org
Sunshine Professional Center
8220 Bonita Beach Road
Suite # 223
Bonita Beach, FL 34135
Office: 239-405-7008
Fax: 239-405-7038

Linda Resovsky, Executive Assistant
resovskyl@alzflgulf.org
14010 Roosevelt Blvd., #709
Clearwater, FL 33762-3862
Office: 727-578-2558 x132
Fax: 727-578-2286

Katie Scott, Program Specialist
scottk@alzflgulf.org
3277A Fruitville Road, Suite 1
Sarasota, FL 34237
Office: 941-365-8883
Fax: 941-365-8885

Kim Schaub, Program Specialist
schaubk@alzflgulf.org  
309 North Parsons Avenue
Brandon, Fl 33510
Phone: 813-684-1296
Fax: 813-685-7213

Stefanie Thompson, M.A., Director of Early Stage Programs/Program Specialist
thompsons@alzflgulf.org
Located in the Florida Avenue Center
601 South Florida Avenue, Suite 3
Lakeland, FL 33801
Office: 863-292-9210
Fax: 863-292-9603

Christopher Wilcox, Program Specialist
wilcoxc@alzflgulf.org
Located in the Florida Avenue Center
601 South Florida Avenue Suite 3
Lakeland, FL 33801
Office: 863-292-9210
Fax: 863-292-9603

Back to Top

Volunteer Board of Directors – Florida Gulf Coast Chapter

Officers

Chair
Andrew Weintraub, Palm Harbor
Contact via the Clearwater Office
14010 Roosevelt Blvd. #709
Clearwater, Fl 33762-3862

Vice-Chair
Ron Wheeler, St. Petersburg

Treasurer
Paul Hasting, Sarasota

Secretary
David Gollins, Lutz

Chair Emeritus
Alan Silverglat, Lakewood Ranch*

Directors
 
Scott Anderson, Venice

Brad Beatty, Winter Haven

Thomas Conklin, Esq., Sarasota

Aryn L. Harrison Bush, Ph.D., Lakeland

Jeffrey Dolden, Naples

David Gollins, Lutz

William Haley, Ph.D., Tampa

John Martinez, Tampa

Joe Raissi, MBA, St. Petersburg

Stephanie Shaw Pastor, Bradenton

Kim Spencer, Punta Gorda

Patricia Turner, R.N.B.A., Tampa

* Also a member of the National Alzheimer's Association's Board of Directors

Back to top

Our History

The Florida Gulf Coast Chapter was founded in 1984, known then as the Tampa Bay Chapter it served Pinellas, Hillsborough and Polk counties. In 1999, the West Central Florida Chapter was merged with the Tampa Bay Chapter adding Citrus, Hernando, Pasco and Sumter counties increasing the Chapter's service region to seven counties. In 2003, the Sarasota/Manatee Chapter and the Southwest Florida Chapters were merged into the Tampa Bay Chapter. These mergers added Charlotte, Citrus, Collier, DeSoto, Glades, Hardy, Hendry, Highlands, Lee, Manatee, and Sarasota counties to the Chapter's service region. With this expansion, the Tampa Bay Chapter changed its name to the Florida Gulf Coast Chapter to better reflect its comprehensive 17 county service region.

Within the 17 counties that comprise the Florida Gulf Coast Chapter, the Florida Department of Elder Affairs estimates that in 2011 there were 172,229 people living with Alzheimer's disease and this number does not include the Snowbirds who reside in the region during the Winter months.

There are only eight states with higher incidence of Alzheimer's than that within our Chapter's service region. Nationally one in every 58 people of all ages has Alzheimer's disease. In the State of Florida it is one in every 41 people. In the areas served by the Florida Gulf Coast Chapter 1 in every 33 people of all ages has Alzheimer's disease!

The Florida Gulf Coast Chapter meets the challenge of such overwhelming numbers through a dedicated staff of 25 based out of eight regional offices and our Memory Mobile - a mobile office that targets rural and inner city communities.

It is estimated that there are 459,806 people living with Alzheimer's disease in the State of Florida. That represents nearly 9% of the 5.2 M cases in the United States.

Back to top

 


 

Join or start a team today.

Find a Walk

Washington Alaska Texas Washington Oregon California Idaho Nevada Arizona Utah Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico Oklahoma Kansas Nebraska South Dakota North Dakota Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Mississippi Illinois Wisconsin Michigan Indiana Kentucky Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Virginia West Virginia Ohio Maine Pennsylvania New York Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey onClick= Delaware Maryland Hawaii Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Delaware Maryland Washington D.C.
Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.