Give Today
Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

About UseNewsletterMessage BoardsAction CenterAdvocateWalk to End Alzheimer’sShopDonate

Find your chapter:

search by state

In My Community

Weekly e-news

We will not share your information.



About Our Chapter
Text Size controlsNormal font sizeMedium font sizeLarge font size

About Us

The Alzheimer’s Association, Greater Illinois Chapter serves 68 counties in Illinois with offices in Bloomington, Carbondale, Chicago, Joliet, Rockford and Springfield. Since 1980, the Chapter has provided reliable information and care consultation; created supportive services for families; increased funding for dementia research; and influenced public policy changes. Today, the Greater Illinois Chapter serves the more than a half million Illinois residents affected by Alzheimer’s disease throughout our chapter area, including 210,000 people with the disease.

Our mission

To eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research; to provide and enhance care and support for all affected; and to reduce the risk of dementia through the promotion of brain health.

Our vision

Financial information

The Greater Illinois Chapter is a tax-exempt, 501(c) 3 nonprofit, donor-supported organization. Programs and services are made possible through contributions from individuals, corporations, and foundations. The Chapter uses 75% of all funds raised for programs, services and research efforts.

Chapter Audited Financial Statement

To view the most recent audited financial statements for the Chapter, click below.

The Greater Illinois Chapter has chosen to be included in the Alzheimer’s Association’s IRS 990 Group Tax Return, and did not file a separate return. Click here to display the National Alzheimer’s Association IRS 990 Group Tax Returns.

Annual report
Strategic Plan

The Alzheimer's Association's nationwide strategic plan sets the pace for significant growth in delivering our mission across the country. The Greater Illinois Chapter strives to implement all strategies for growth outlined in the strategic plan within the Chapter territory.

Back to top

Board of directors – Greater Illinois Chapter

Executive Committee

Janis Tratnik - Evanston, IL
   Jan Tratnik Consulting

Vice Chair
Mary Wasik - Park Ridge, IL
   Attorney, Partner
   Levenfeld Pearlstein, LLC

Mattias Brown - Arlington Heights, IL
   Sr. Director & Assist. Sec'y
   Product Approval & Compliance
   CNO Services LLC

Keith Kinsey, CFP (R) - Varna, IL
   Managing Director Investment Officer,
   Kinsey Wealth Management Group of Wells Fargo

Cheri L. McEssy - Chicago, IL
   CMAC McVentures LLC

Marcus Morrow - Chicago, IL
   Segal, McCambridge, Singer and Mahoney

Victoria Raymont - Chicago, IL
   Raymont Group

Sheri Supena - Elmhurst, IL
   Actor, Volunteer

James Werner - North Barrington, IL
   Senior VP, Internal Audit
   Hyatt Corporation


General Board

Jennifer Convery - Western Springs, IL
   Group President, North America
   Griffith Foods Inc.

Michael Duffy - Chicago, IL
   Baker & McKenzie LLP

Cathy Edge - Rockford, IL
   Community Volunteer

Scott Goldberg - Glencoe, IL
   Bankers Life

Joseph Harrington - Chicago, IL
   Regional Health Officer
   Illinois Department of Public Health

Reagan Hogerty - La Grange, IL
   Senior Vice President
   Jordan Industries Int’l LLC

Daneen Jachino - Chicago, IL
   Community Volunteer

Stephen C. Mack - Inverness, IL
   Community Volunteer

Brad Moore - Lake Forest, IL
   Chief Revenue Officer

Robert Noonan - Chicago, IL
   Chicago Parrott Heads

Scott Perry - Chicago, IL
   Managing Partner
   SP Capital LLC

Raj Shah - Naperville, IL
   Associate Professor
   Rush University Medical Center

A. Thomas Skallas - Park Ridge, IL
   Dussias Skallas Wittenberg

Note: the city listed is personal residence

Advisory Committees

* Non-Board member

The Illinois Chapter Network (ICN)

Beth Coulson *
  Community volunteer

Cathy Edge *
  Community volunteer

Stuart Gaines *
  Community Care Alternatives

Jason Gowin *
  Gowin Parc

Joseph Harrington
  Regional Health Officer
  Illinois Dept. of Public Health

Daneen Jachino, Chair
  Community Volunteer

Brandy Levin *
  Corporate Public Policy Analyst
  State Farm Insurance

Stephen Mack *
  Community Volunteer

Kerry Peck
  Managing Partner
  Peck Bloom, LLC

Medical & Scientific

Charlene Aaron, RN, PhD *
   PhD Chancellor
   St. John's School of Nursing

Tom Ala, MD *
   Interim Director
   Center for Alzheimer’s Disease & Related Disorders

Concetta Forchetti, MD *
   Medical Director 
   Alexian Brothers Memory Disorder Center

Changiz Geula, PhD *
   Director, Laboratory for Cognitive & Molecular Morphometry
   Cognitive Neurology & Alzheimer’s Disease Center
   Northwestern University

Joseph Harrington
   Regional Health Officer
   Illinois Dept. of Public Health

Vincent D. Keenan, CAE. *
   Executive Vice President
   Illinois Academy of Family Physicians

Melissa Lamar, PhD *
   Director of Cognitive Aging and Vascular Health

James A. Mastrianni, MD, PhD *
   Director of the Center for Comprehensive Care & Research
   on Memory Disorders

Jeanete Reyes-Cordero *
   Former Sr. Therapeutic Specialty Rep.
   Community Relations Specialist, Consumer Markets
   Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois

Terrianne Reynolds, MPH
   Director of Medical and Research Activities
   Alzheimer’s Association, Greater Illinois Chapter

William Rhoades, MD *
  Chair of Medicine, Advocate
   Lutheran General Hospital

Raj Shah, Board Liaison
   Medical Director, Rush Memory Clinic
   Rush University Medical Center

Heidi Johnson, MS Senior Manager
   Research Engagement Alzheimer's Association, GIC

Back to top

Administrative staff

President & CEO
   Erna Colborn 

Chief Development Officer
   Lisa Lee

Chief Financial Officer
   Janet Devlin

Chief Program Officer
   Melanie Chavin

Vice President, Communications
   Nancy Rainwater

Vice President, Corporate Engagement
   Steve Schapiro

Vice President, Public Policy and Advocacy
   Jennifer Belkov

Director, Education & Outreach
   Melanie Adams

Director, E-Strategy
   Salvador Bayron

Director, Finance
   Maggie Kocol 

Director, Helpline and Support Services
   Melissa Tucker

Director, Human Resources
   Lori Calcinardi

Director, Information Technology
   Mark Smith

Director, Medical and Research Activities
   Terrianne Reynolds

Director, Volunteers 
   Louie Iovane

Walk Director
   Rachel Hesse

Executive Assistant to the CEO
   Sherron Farrell

Chapter staff by location

   Click to view >>>

Back to top



Alzheimer's Association

Our vision: A world without Alzheimer's disease®.
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.