Vote Now
Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

About UseNewsletterMessage BoardsAction CenterAdvocateWalk to End Alzheimer’sShopDonate

Find your chapter:

search by state

In My Community

Weekly e-news

We will not share your information.

About Our Chapter
Text Size controlsNormal font sizeMedium font sizeLarge font size

The Alzheimer’s Association Greater Indiana Chapter
In 1982, the Alzheimer’s Association and Related Disorders Organization was established in cooperation with Community Hospitals, Indianapolis to support patients and families affected by Alzheimer’s disease. The Chapter affiliated with the National Association in 1988 and became the Alzheimer’s Association - Central Indiana Chapter. By the year 2000, 37 counties in central Indiana were served by the Chapter.

Meanwhile, in 1986, the South Central Indiana Chapter of the Alzheimer’s Association was incorporated. Located in Columbus, Indiana, the South Central Chapter originally served five counties. By the year 2000, their service area had grown to 14 counties.

In the year 2000, these two chapters merged to form the Alzheimer’s Association of Central Indiana. In 2003, the Alzheimer’s Association of Central Indiana merged with the Ft. Wayne Alzheimer’s Support Groups to form the Alzheimer’s Association Greater Indiana Chapter. With the merger, the Association expanded it’s territory to include Northern Indiana and opened an office in Ft. Wayne, Indiana.

The Association is administered by a voluntary Board of Directors and a staff of 24. Over 550 volunteers are also utilized to provide support and education programs to the Association’s 73 counties.

Our mission
To eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research; to provide and enhance care and support for all affected; and to reduce the risk of dementia through the promotion of brain health.

Our vision
A world without Alzheimer's disease.

Financial Information

The Greater Indiana Chapter is a tax-exempt, 501(c)(3) nonprofit, donor-supported organization. Programs and services are made possible through contributions from individuals, corporations and foundations. The generosity of our donors enables us to continue to provide invaluable services and fund research as we work to eliminate Alzheimer’s disease. In our continuing effort to be good stewards of the gifts we receive, in fiscal year 2011 77% of our expenditures provided programs and services to those affected by Alzheimer’s disease.

Annual Report

Annual Reports available to download
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2006
2005
2004

For more information on use of funds or to request a printed copy of a report, please call the Chapter's 24/7 Helpline at 800-272-3900.

Board of Directors

Officers
Dee Dee Katzman
President

Maureen Becher-Sage
Treasurer

Richard Mohs, Ph.D.
Secretary

Dan Rexroth
Mission and Outreach Chair

Greg Murray
Resource Management Chair

Phil Nicely
Past-President

Directors


Bruce Baude  Member at Large 
Michael Barth Member at Large
Jim Boyers Member at Large
Ned Broadwater Member at Large
Kendall Crook  Member at Large 
Tom Cyrus Member at Large
Sherri Davies Member at Large
Eric Easter Member at Large
Jeff Edwards Member at Large
Anita Gaillard Member at Large
Brian Healey Member at Large
Mike Russell Member at Large
Andrea Smiley Member at Large
Jim Stone Member at Large
Art Wachholz  Member at Large 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Medical and Scientific Advisory Council

Linda Abels, M.D.
Azita Chehresa, M.D., Ph.D.
Andrew Class, M.D.
Carolyn Cunningham, M.D.
Jeanne Dickens, M.D., M.S.
Martin Farlow, M.D.
Margaret Frazer, M.D.
Ann Hake, M.D.
Patrick Healey, M.D.
Fen Lei Chang, M.D.,
Richard Mohs, Ph.D.
Leslie Oleck, CNS
Stephen Rappaport, M.D.
David Spangler, M.D.
Stanley Szwast, M.D.
Tasha Williams, Ph.D.

Council of Past Presidents
Phil Nicely
Carolyn Cunningham, M.D.
Curt Fankhauser
John Thompson
Mary Guerriero Austrom, Ph.D.
Dave Bromund
Ken Bennett
Mark Laker

Staff

Executive Director

Heather Allen Hershberger

heather.hershberger@alz.org

Director of Programs

Linda Altmeyer

linda.altmeyer@alz.org

Director of Development

Cathy Boyer

cathy.boyer@alz.org

Development Specialist

Denise Fosnaugh

dfosnaugh@alz.org

Executive Assistant

Christine Franz

christine.franz@alz.org

Information & Referral Specialist

Adriane Baucom

abaucom@alz.org

Communications Specialist

Brittany Kapps

bkapps@alz.org

Development Specialist Lauren Lay llay@alz.org
Development Specialist Austin Lee ahlee@alz.org

Finance and Operations Director

Wanda Lew

wanda.lew@alz.org

Administrative Assistant

Jane Lund

jlund@alz.org

Director, Walk to End Alzheimer's

Amber Sermersheim

asermersheim@alz.org

Program Specialist 

Kelly Petrick 

kpetrick@alz.org 

Family and Community Program Coordinator

Kristi Ritchie

kristi.ritchie@alz.org

Associate Director of Care Consultation and Early Stage Services Denise Saxman, LCSW dsaxman@alz.org
Communications Director Leah Shattuck lshattuck@alz.org
Community Outreach Specialist  Katie Slater kslater@alz.org
Care Consultant  Lori Stock, MSW  lstock@alz.org  

Director of Public Policy & Advocacy

Michael Sullivan

michael.sullivan@alz.org

Donor Relations Specialist

Stacy Sullivan

stacy.sullivan@alz.org

Program Specialist

Ashley Thomas

athomas@alz.org

Walk to End Alzheimer's Coordinator

Julie Tutwiler

jtutwiler@alz.org

Senior Specialist, Provider and Early Stage Outreach

Dustin Ziegler

dustin.ziegler@alz.org


Back to top


 

Join or start a team today.

Find a Walk

Washington Alaska Texas Washington Oregon California Idaho Nevada Arizona Utah Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico Oklahoma Kansas Nebraska South Dakota North Dakota Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Mississippi Illinois Wisconsin Michigan Indiana Kentucky Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Virginia West Virginia Ohio Maine Pennsylvania New York Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey onClick= Delaware Maryland Hawaii Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Delaware Maryland Washington D.C.
Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.