$25,000 Match
Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

About UseNewsletterMessage BoardsAction CenterAdvocateWalk to End Alzheimer’sShopDonate

Find your chapter:

search by state

In My Community

Weekly e-news

We will not share your information.

About Our Chapter
Text Size controlsNormal font sizeMedium font sizeLarge font size

About us

The Alzheimer’s Association - Heart of America Chapter serves 66 counties in Kansas and Missouri and is the trusted resource for vital information, education, training, support programs and services to more than 50,000 individuals and nearly 200,000 family members and care partners in our service area suffering the emotional, physical and financial challenges of Alzheimer's disease. The Heart of America Chapter is a tax-exempt, 501(c)(3) nonprofit, donor-supported organization. Programs and services are made possible through contributions from individuals, corporations and foundations.

Our mission
To eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research; to provide and enhance care and support for all affected; and to reduce the risk of dementia through the promotion of brain health.

Our vision
A world without Alzheimer's disease.



Juliette B. Bradley
Director of Communications

Scott Bradley
Director of Special Events

Debra R. Brook
Executive Director

Karen Clond, L.M.S.W.
Dementia Care Specialist

Brenda Gregg, MS
Dementia Care Specialist

Jan Horn
Director of Operations and Corporate Relations

Lauren Larsen
Special Events Coordinator

Cindy Miller, LPN
Dementia Care Specialist

Michelle Niedens, L.S.C.S.W.
Director of Education, Programs and Public Policy 

Jeanne Reeder, L.M.S.W.
Dementia Care Specialist

Beth Sherry

Carol Smith

Kim Stein
Dementia Care Specialist

Susan Wagner
Donations Processor

Trish Weathersoon
Outreach Coordinator/Diversity Outreach

Maria Cecillia Ysaac
Outreach Coordinator/Latino Outreach

Amy Yeager, L.M.S.W.
Dementia Care Specialist

Back to top


Board of Directors

Benjamin J. Biller, President
Joseph P. Platt, Treasurer
Debbie Biehl, Secretary

John C.Aisenbrey
Jane Dickinson Kress
Mike Levitan
Martin M. Loring
David Marks
Cathy Tivol Maslan
David R. Schlee
Chad Stout
Rob Sweatt

Back to top


Program and Education Advisory Committee

Dr. Heather Anderson, University of Kansas Scool of Medicine, Neurology Department
Dr. Lynn Lyon, Neurologist
Dr. Nevada Lee, Internal Medicine
Becky Fast, LMSW, Office of Congressman Dennis Moore
Nina Chen, PhD, CFLE, University of Missouri Extension
Carole Ellison, Caregiver
Judy Goodhue, RN, Caregiver
Penny Shaffer, RN, MS, Johnson County Community College
Laura Miles, Care Connection for Aging Services, Warrensburg, MO
Jacqueline Talman, HCA Midwest Division
Leonor Solis, Guadalupe Center

Back to top


Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.