Donate Now
Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

About UseNewsletterMessage BoardsAction CenterAdvocateWalk to End Alzheimer’sShopDonate

Find your chapter:

search by state

In My Community
About Our Chapter
Text Size controlsNormal font sizeMedium font sizeLarge font size


The Alzheimer’s Association is the leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer care, support and research. 

Our mission

To eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research; to provide and enhance care and support for all affected; and to reduce the risk of dementia through the promotion of brain health.

Our vision

A world without Alzheimer's disease.

Our History

Commemorating 25 Years of Service in 2010

Almost three decades ago, a group of caregivers gathered around a kitchen table in Columbia to discuss caring for persons with Alzheimer’s disease. Together, they created a support network that grew each year until in 1985, the Alzheimer’s Association Mid-Missouri Chapter signed an official charter and agreed to serve those with Alzheimer’s and their families as a 501(c)3 non-profit.

Today, the Alzheimer’s Association Mid-Missouri Chapter offers services and support to the 14,000 individuals living with Alzheimer’s or a related dementia in central and northeast Missouri. The chapter has grown from a group of dedicated volunteers to a full-time operation, employing eight inspired individuals and serving the community 24 hours a day.

“Through efficiency, hard work, and inspired dedication to this cause, the Alzheimer’s Association Mid-Missouri Chapter provides a wealth of services to so many in central and northeast Missouri,” said Linda Newkirk, Executive Director of the Alzheimer’s Association Mid-Missouri Chapter.

While the Alzheimer’s Association grew and developed over the last 25 years, so too has our understanding of Alzheimer’s disease. What was once considered a natural result of aging is now understood as a progressive brain disease which destroys brain cells, causing memory loss and problems with thinking and behavior severe enough to interfere with daily life. Researchers now agree that Alzheimer’s disease is not a normal part of aging. Recent studies are unraveling this mysterious disease, including improved diagnostics, treatments and preventative techniques.

“The Alzheimer’s Association Mid-Missouri Chapter is commemorating 25 years of service to the community; we won’t celebrate until we find a cure. The Alzheimer’s Association will continue to work tirelessly to provide services and support to those with Alzheimer’s and their families while advocating for investments in Alzheimer research in order to find that cure,” concluded Newkirk.

Annual Report


Click here to see our Annual Report

 

Board of Directors - Columbia

Kay Niemeier, President
Andrea Benna, J.D., Vice President
Linda Fisher, Secretary

Richard Oliver, Ph.D
Lisa Pilkington
David Tomlinson
Reginald "Reg" Turnbull
Lili Vianello
Mary Joan Wood
Linda Botterfield Cupp
Lenard L Politte, MD
Sandy Scotten

Columbia Staff

Executive Director-Linda Newkirk
lnewkirk@alz.org

Associate Director, Programs-Joetta Coen
jcoen@alz.org

Associate Director Events-Chris Baker
cbaker@lz.org

Communications Manager-Janie Elson 
jelson@alz.org

Family Services Coordinator-Pam Richmond
prichmond@alz.org

Early Stage Care Consultant, Alzheimer’s Educator-Janie Bonham
jbonham@alz.org

Community Outreach Coordinator-Patti Coble
pcoble@alz.org

 

Springfield Staff

Senior Associate Director-Marie Murphree
mmurphree@alz.og

Associate Director-Angel King
aking@alz.org

Associate Director of Events-Nate Reed
nreed@alz.org

Finance Manager-Teresa McCullough
tmccullough@alz.org

Specialist Care Consultant-Marci McKie
mmckie@alz.org

Outreach Coordinator-Rob Hulstra
rhulstra@alz.org

Administrative Assistant-Tanis Tucker
ttucker@alz.org


 

Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.