Join
Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

About UseNewsletterMessage BoardsAction CenterAdvocateWalk to End Alzheimer’sShopDonate

Find your chapter:

search by state

In My Community

Weekly e-news

We will not share your information.



A Best Place to Work
- Volunteer
Text Size controlsNormal font sizeMedium font sizeLarge font size

From San Francisco to Monterey to Sacramento to Reno and all across Northern California and Northern Nevada – great things happen when you volunteer with the Alzheimer’s Association! Learn more about all of our volunteer opportunities and how to get started as an Alzheimer’s Association volunteer below.

We offer a variety of volunteer opportunities to fit any interest and time commitment. This menu of opportunities includes our greatest volunteer needs – but if you have a special area of interest or talent to contribute that you don’t see listed below, fill out our volunteer application and contact us to tell us more.

Administrative office volunteers
Do you love a fun office environment and thrive on being organized and up for anything? As a member of the administrative team, you’ll help organize and prepare materials for conferences, special events and Helpline packets and aid in the overall workflow of a chapter office. This encompasses making copies, organizing mailings, data entry and more. We offer weekday and limited weekend opportunities.

Advocacy volunteers
If you feel passionate about the Alzheimer’s cause and want the world to know, you will make a great advocacy volunteer! You don’t have to be experienced in advocacy (we teach you that!) just a desire to become involved in policy. Advocates help us influence legislators at the Federal and State level by sending emails, writing letters and calling or visiting legislators. You can respond to action alerts from the comfort of your home, attend advocacy events, visit legislators in home district offices and assist in the identifying new advocates. Learn more about becoming an advocate or sign up to be an advocate now!

Art volunteer
Are you an artist – either in practice or at heart? Our volunteer Memories in the Making (MIM) art facilitators lead groups of people with dementia in a weekly water color activity at a care facility. Our MIM facilitators are given training and required to commit to a year of volunteering on a weekly basis. This volunteer opportunity is only available in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Helpline volunteers
Empathy, patience, kindness and problem-solving skills are hallmark characteristics of our Helpline volunteers. If you have a background as a caregiver or a degree in social work, counseling, psychology or gerontology, this is a good fit for you. Working from an Alzheimer’s Association office, members of our Helpline team take phone calls from families seeking support, encouragement, hope and guidance through the challenges of Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias. The Helpline team also fulfills Helpline packets and updates a database of all of our Helpline callers.

Walk to End Alzheimer's volunteers
Do you want to be part of the largest movement against Alzheimer’s disease in the country? Volunteer with Walk to End Alzheimer’s as a member of our volunteer committee and you’ll help plan and execute the event, assisting with anything from publicity and team recruitment to logistics and securing sponsorship. Or, be a part of the team of volunteers that makes the walk happen on the day of the event, from setup to tear down! Learn more about a Walk to End Alzheimer’s near you.

Speaker’s Bureau volunteers
Shrinking violet’s need not apply! Our Speakers Bureau volunteers represent and promote the Alzheimer’s Association through presentations and at events. Presentations can range from as little as three minutes to full one-hour trainings. Speakers Bureau volunteers may also distribute information and brochures at health fairs and employee giving drives. These volunteers need access to reliable transportation and should be willing and able to travel in local areas.

Special event volunteers
Are you a planner and networker extraordinaire? Help us plan and execute annual chapter events. We are looking for committee members to assist with publicity, logistics, sponsorship and more.

Support group volunteers
If you are looking for a volunteer opportunity that gives you in-person contact with families that are coping with Alzheimer’s or another form of dementia, facilitating a support group might be a good fit for you. Our expertly trained support group leaders facilitate or co-facilitate support groups throughout our chapter for family members and caregivers seeking assistance, emotional support and information on all topics related to Alzheimer’s disease. The required time commitment varies from three to four hours on a weekly, bi-weekly or monthly basis depending upon the specific support group assigned. Support group leader volunteers are required to make a minimum one-year commitment.

I’m Interested in Volunteering. How do I get started?

If you’re interested in volunteering, we would love to hear from you! Just fill out a volunteer application and get in touch with the volunteer contact closest to you, or give us a call at 800.272.3900.

volunteer application

San Francisco Bay Area
Including San Francisco, San Jose, Oakland and Walnut Creek
Tessie Calligeros tessie.calligeros@alz.org
SanFrancisco Walk to End Alzheimer's: Allison Baca abaca@alz.org
San Jose Walk to End Alzheimer's: Alicia Sturgess asturgess@alz.org
Walnut Creek & Solano County Walk to End Alzheimer's: Ondine Boulter oboulter@alz.org

Sacramento Area
Including Sacramento, Stockton and Modesto
Michelle Johnston michelle.johnston@alz.org
Sacramento Walk to End Alzheimer’s: Sara Faugn sfaugn@alz.org
Stockton & Modesto Walk to End Alzheimer's: CherylSchrock cschrock@alz.org
Yuba City Walk to End Alzheimer's: Jody Cornilsen jcornilsen@alz.org

North Bay
Including San Rafael, Santa Rosa, Napa and Fairfield
Shelley Dombroski shelley.dombroski@alz.org
Napa & Petaluma Walk to End Alzheimer’s: Mindy Wright mwright1@alz.org

Monterey
Including Monterey and Salinas
Sherry Williams sherry.williams@alz.org
Walk to End Alzheimer’s: Joy Anderson janderson@alz.org

Santa Cruz
Including Santa Cruz, Gilroy and Watsonville
Dale Thielges dale.thielges@alz.org
Walk to End Alzheimer’s: Anissa Novak anissa.novak@alz.org

Chico
Including Chico and Redding
Becky Robinson becky.robinson@alz.org
Chico & Redding Walk to End Alzheimer’s: Jody Cornilsen jcornilsen@alz.org

Fresno
Including Fresno and Merced
Barbara Tanimoto barbara.tanimoto@alz.org
Fresno & Merced Walk to End Alzheimer's: Barbara Tanimoto btanimoto@alz.org

Reno
Including Reno and Carson City
Jacob Harmon jacob.harmon@alz.org
Walk to End Alzheimer’s: Erica Baker erica.baker@alz.org

 



 

Join or start a team today.

Find a Walk

Washington Alaska Texas Washington Oregon California Idaho Nevada Arizona Utah Montana Wyoming Colorado New Mexico Oklahoma Kansas Nebraska South Dakota North Dakota Minnesota Iowa Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Mississippi Illinois Wisconsin Michigan Indiana Kentucky Tennessee Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Virginia West Virginia Ohio Maine Pennsylvania New York Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey onClick= Delaware Maryland Hawaii Vermont New Hampshire Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Delaware Maryland Washington D.C.
Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.