Join
Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

About UseNewsletterMessage BoardsAction CenterAdvocateWalk to End Alzheimer’sShopDonate

Find your chapter:

search by state

In My Community
Volunteer
Text Size controlsNormal font sizeMedium font sizeLarge font size

The New York City Chapter of the Alzheimer's Association has nearly 500 volunteers who participate in the work of the Chapter in a variety of ways. Whether you can spare only a little bit of time or make a more significant time commitment we hope that you will join us in our very special community. Please note that most of our volunteer opportunities take place between 9am and 5pm, Monday through Friday in our offices located at 360 Lexington Avenue.

 

Chapter Administration
Assist in the many administrative tasks needed to keep our chapter running smoothly, including special projects, mailings, collating and copying.
Hours: daytime hours, Monday-Friday
Contact Chris Doucette at cdoucette@alznyc.org

 

Health Fairs, Street Fairs, Agency Fairs
Staff a Alzheimer's Association, NYC Chapter table at health fairs, agency fairs, and street fairs (Spring/Summer/Fall). Answer basic questions on Alzheimer's disease to senior groups, corporate offices, community centers, and schools. Volunteer training provided by Alzheimer's Association. English, Bi-lingual Spanish and Chinese speaking volunteers needed.

Hours: daytime hours, Monday- Friday
If you would like the NYC Chapter to attend your health fair, please contact Gail Gallacher at ggallacher@alznyc.org

 

Advocacy
Add your VOICE to ours by becoming an advocate today. Help generate action from our elected officials by making calls and writing letters. Stay on top of policy and legislative issues through alerts and updates and help elevate Alzheimer’s from a disease to a cause.

Become an advocate today!

Hours: Can be done from home on your own time by responding to monthly action alerts.
Contact Hilary Stuchin at hstuchin@alznyc.org

 

Seeking Bi-Lingual Volunteers
The Alzheimer’s Association, New York City Chapter, is seeking proficient bi-lingual English and Spanish, and English and Chinese volunteers to assist in our Latino, Chinese and Russian outreach efforts. Trained volunteers are needed, Monday – Friday, various hours to provide presentations on Alzheimer’s disease and the services offered at Alzheimer’s Association. Our audiences include senior centers, community organizations, clubs, congregations, and schools. Speaking engagements take place on periodic basis
Requirements

  • Experience with public speaking and presentations
  • Experience with Alzheimer’s disease

For Latino Outreach contact Roberto Reyes at rreyes@alznyc.org
For Chinese Outreach contact Fanny Lau at flau@alznyc.org
*For Russian Outreach contact Elizabeth Santiago at esantiago@alznyc.org

 

Special Events
Help us raise funds and awareness for the New York City Chapter through events such as Athletes to End Alzheimer’s, the Gala and our Annual meetings. Volunteers needed to assist with event set-up, greeting and registering guests, as well as marketing and promotion in the community.
Gala or Annual Meeting
Contact Crissy Vicendese at
cvicendese@alznyc.org
Athletes to End Alzheimer's
Contact Jennifer Balka at jbalka@alznyc.org

 

Walk Committee
Help us raise funds and awareness for the New York City Chapter Walk to End Alzheimer's. Volunteers needed to assist with event set-up, greeting and registering guests, as well as marketing and promotion in the community.
Contact smetzger@alznyc.org

 

Junior Committee
The Junior Committee of the Alzheimer's Association, NYC Chapter is dedicated to raising awareness of Alzheimer's and related dementias to individuals in their 20s and 30s.

Please visit the Junior Committee website at http://alznycjc.org/

 


 

Alzheimer's Association

Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.