Alzheimer’s Association Awards Committed Advocate Michaela “Mikey” Hoag with Top Philanthropic Award

The Alzheimer’s Association has named Michaela “Mikey” Hoag recipient of its Jerome H. Stone Philanthropy Award for Alzheimer’s Research. Hoag will receive her award on July 16 during the opening session of the Alzheimer’s Association International Conference® 2017 in London. The annual award honors individuals and organizations that have had significant impact on the global Alzheimer’s research field through their philanthropy.

Hoag, of Atherton, Calif., is recognized for her philanthropic contributions in support of Alzheimer’s research, most notably the highly successful Part the Cloud initiative she launched in 2012. This novel initiative funds earlier stage clinical studies to help accelerate the transition of findings from the laboratory into possible therapies. Part the Cloud bridges an important gap by supporting promising research ideas that often stall due to lack of funding.

“I believe research is the only way to end this horrific disease,” Hoag said. “Part the Cloud is committed to funding novel research ideas and expediting their progress so we can determine if they will be effective treatments for the millions of people living with Alzheimer’s.

“I’m appreciative of the support the Alzheimer’s Association has provided in identifying worthy research efforts to support with the funds we raise and I am extremely humbled to be this year’s recipient of Jerome H. Stone Award,” Hoag added.

One example of Part the Cloud’s innovative approach is its Part the Cloud Challenge on neuroinflammation. Launched in 2016, this global challenge supports clinical trials that target brain inflammation and its potential role in Alzheimer’s disease. In partnership with the Alzheimer’s Association, the challenge is currently funding four trials with $1 million grants and will award an additional $3 million to the trial that demonstrates the most promise after two years.

Since 2012, Part the Cloud has generated more than $20 million in funding for Alzheimer's research, making it possible for the Alzheimer's Association to award 23 additional research grants during this time. These awards span a variety of targets in Alzheimer's disease research and fall under the leadership of some of the nation's most prestigious scientists and universities. The most recent Part the Cloud Gala in 2016 raised nearly $11 million dollars ($10.8 million) in direct support of Alzheimer’s research, distinguishing it as the largest single fundraising event in Alzheimer’s Association history.

“Mikey Hoag is a passionate and relentless champion in the very important work to advance treatments and ultimately a cure for Alzheimer’s,” said Harry Johns, president and CEO of the Alzheimer’s Association. “We are deeply appreciative of her leadership and commitment. All of her many contributions are advancing us toward achieving our vision of a world without Alzheimer’s even sooner."

Established in 2013, the Stone Award is named in honor of Jerome Stone, primary founder of the Alzheimer’s Association. Stone was one of the first private citizens to advocate for investment in Alzheimer’s research. The award underscores the Alzheimer’s Association commitment to accelerating the global effort to eliminate Alzheimer’s disease and to recognizing the efforts of researchers who advance understanding of it. Previous Stone Award recipients include: The Zenith Society (2013), Selim Zilkha (2014), GHR Foundation and MetLife Foundation (2015) and Jerre and Mary Joy Stead (2016).

The Alzheimer’s Association is committed to accelerating the global effort to eliminate Alzheimer’s disease and to recognizing the efforts of researchers who further our understanding about this devastating disease. Since 1982 the Alzheimer's Association has invested over $385 million in more than 2,500 scientific investigations. As the largest nonprofit funder of Alzheimer’s research, our International Research Grant Program is currently investing more than $100 million across 370 best-of-field active projects in 18 countries.

For more information about past Part the Cloud grant recipients please visit

About AAIC
The Alzheimer’s Association International Conference® 2017 (AAIC®) is the largest international meeting dedicated to advancing dementia science. Each year, AAIC unites the world’s leading researchers, next generation investigators, clinicians and the care research community to share discoveries in basic and translational research that will lead to methods of prevention and treatment, and improvements in diagnosis for Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias.
AAIC 2017 home page:
AAIC 2017 newsroom:

Media Contacts: 
Alzheimer's Association AAIC newsroom, +44 (0) 20-7069-6000,
Mike Campea, Alzheimer’s Association, 312-978-4372,


« See All Awards

> 1200px
> 992px
> 768px
< 767px