Share or Print this page

Get the support you need. Meet safely with others for supportive, meaningful discussion led by a trained facilitator. Support groups are available throughout Maine for caregivers or for people living with early memory loss.

If you have any questions or would like to be connected with any Maine support groups, contact Amy Angelo at 207.772.0115 or alangelo@alz.org
 

In Person Caregiver Support Groups

 

Southern Maine

 
  • Biddeford Area Caregiver Support Group | Hybrid | 2nd Monday of the month, 3 to 4:30 p.m. In-person and also on Zoom. J. Richard Martin Community Center, 189 Alfred St., Biddeford, ME 04005 Barbara Alberda: 207.713.3723, balberda@gwi.net 
  • Falmouth Area Caregiver Support Group | 3rd Wednesday of the month, 5 to 6 p.m. Sedgewood Commons, 22 Northbrook Dr., Falmouth, ME 04106 Elise Machusko: 207.781.5775, elise.machusko@genesishcc.com
  • Falmouth Community Programs Caregiver Support Group | 2nd Friday of the month, 10 to 11:30 a.m. Mason Motz Activity Center, 190 Middle Rd., Falmouth, ME 04105 Aurelie Bush: 207.212.7222, edbush1@gmail.com
  • Kennebunk-Wells Area Caregiver Support Group | 4th Tuesday of the month, 4 to 5:30 p.m. Home Instead, 71 Post Rd., Wells, ME 04090 Amy Giovannani: 207.985.9025  
  • Portland Office of Elder Affairs, Barron Center Caregiver Support Group | 4th Friday of the month, 10 to 11:30 a.m. Adult Day Center Bldg, 1145 Brighton Ave. Portland, ME 04102 Sally Donelson: 207.232.6235, sm.donelson@gmail.com
  • Scarborough Area Caregiver Support Group | 4th Tuesday of the month from 12 to 1 p.m. Scarborough Terrace, 600 Community Dr., Scarborough, ME 04074 Angela Cartwright: acartwright@terracecommunities.com, 207.885.5568
  • Sebago Lake Area Caregiver Support Group | 1st & 3rd Sundays of the month, 2 to 3:30 p.m. In-person and also Zoom, Raymond Village Community Church, 27 Main St., Raymond, ME 04071 Alice Oldford: aoldford@yahoo.com, 863.273.2166
  • Southern Coastal Younger Onset Caregiver Support Group | 3rd Saturday of the month, 10:30 a.m. to 12 noon. Southern Maine Medical Center, 1 Medical Center Dr., 2nd Floor, Biddeford, ME 04005 Kim Perrigo: 207.286.6300, perrigo3@gmail.com or Debbie Bourque: 207.590.2805, memeredebbie@yahoo.com
  • NEW! Yarmouth Area Caregiver Support Group | 1st Wednesday of the month, 5:30 to 6:30 p.m. Bay Square, 27 Forest Falls Drive, Yarmouth, ME 04096 Nicholas Rishe: 207.358.4881 ext. 232, nrishe@benchmarkquality.com
  • York Area Caregiver Support Group | 3rd Wednesday of the month, 2 to 3 p.m. York Public Library, 115 Long Sands Rd., York, ME 03909 Linda Bresnahan: 603.560.5522, linda.brez64@gmail.com

Midcoast Region

 
  • NEW! Brunswick YMCA Caregiver Support Group | Vanessa Levat | 1st Tuesday of the month, 10-11 a.m. First Floor, The Landing at 24 Venture Ave., Brunswick, ME 04011 Vanessa Levatt: vanessabush87@gmail.com
  • Brunswick Curtis Memorial Library Caregiver Support Group | 3rd Thursday of the month, 10-11:30 a.m. 23 Pleasant St. Brunswick, ME 04011 Gri Font-Mason: 207.729.8571, gri@respite-care.org 
  • Quarry Hill Camden Caregiver Support Group | 3rd Tuesday of the month, 3 to 4:30 p.m. First Floor, Anderson Inn at Quarry Hill, 30 Community Dr., Camden, ME 04843 Cheri Blouin: 207.301.6237, cheri.blouin@mainehealth.org 

Downeast Maine

 
  • Ellsworth Caregiver Support Group in Partnership with Eastern Area Agency on Aging | 2nd Thursday of the month, 2 to 3:30 p.m. Ellsworth Public Library, 20 State St., Ellsworth, ME 04605. EAAA: 207.941.2865, info@eaaa.org

Lakes and Mountains Region

 
  • Lewiston Caregiver Support Group | 2nd Monday of the month, 5:30 to 7 p.m. SeniorsPlus, 8 Falcon Rd., Lewiston, ME 04240 Dana Morrell: 207.795.4010, dmorrell@seniorsplus.org
  • Lewiston Caregiver Support Group | Last Thursday of the month, 3 to 4:30 p.m. Both in-person & Zoom, SeniorsPlus, 8 Falcon Rd, Lewiston, ME 04240. Heather Komulainen: 207.440.2376, hkomulainen@seniorsplus.org
  • Norway Caregiver Support Group | 4th Thursday of the month, 2:30 to 4 p.m. SeniorsPlus, 9 Marston St. Norway, ME 04268 Valerie Cole: 207.795.4010, vcole@seniorsplus.org
  • South Paris Caregiver Support Group | 2nd Monday of each month, 1:30-2:30 p.m. Maine Veterans' Home, 477 High St., So. Paris, ME 04281 Deana Morton: 207.743.6300, DeanaMorton@mainevets.org
  • Wilton Caregiver Support Group | 1st Thursday of the month, 3 to 4:15 p.m. SeniorsPlus, 284 Maine St., Wilton, ME 04294 Janis Sabin: 207.795.4010 x 3724, jsabin@seniorsplus.org

Central Maine

 
  • NEW! Augusta Area Caregiver Support Group | 2nd Sunday of the month, 11 a.m. to 12 p.m. Elks Club 397 Civic Center Drive, Augusta, ME 04330 Theresea Poirier: 207.242.8130, t.poirier0608@gmail.com
  • Brewer Caregiver Support Group 1 | 2nd Friday of the month, 9 to 10:30 a.m. Eastern Area Agency on Aging, 274 State St. Brewer, ME 04412 Meghan Milliard: 207.941.2865, mmilliard@eaaa.org
  • Brewer Caregiver Support Group 2 | 4th Friday of the month, 10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. Eastern Area Agency on Aging, 274 State St. Brewer, ME 04412 Meghan Milliard: 207.941.2865, mmilliard@eaaa.org
  • Gardiner Caregiver Support Group | 1st Wednesday of the month, 6 to 7:30 p.m. Alzheimer’s Care Center, 154 Dresden Ave., Gardiner, ME 04345 Shauna Buckmore: 207.626.1834, shauna.buckmore@mainegeneral.org or Vanessa Broga: 207.588.3525, vanessa.broga@mainegeneral.org
  • Millinocket Caregiver Support Group | 2nd Tuesday of the month, 10 to 11:30 a.m. Millinocket Public Library, 5 Maine Ave., Millinocket, ME 04462 Meghan Milliard: 207.941.2865, mmilliard@eaaa.org
  • Orono Area Caregiver Support Group | 3rd Thursday of the month, 4:30 to 5:30 p.m. Penobscot  Media Room on the 2nd floor of the Inn at Dirigo Pines, 9 Alumni Dr., Orono, ME 04473 Judy Tredwell: 207.889.9025, jbtredwell@roadrunner.com

Piscataquis

 
  • ON HOLD as of 12.1.23 until further notice! Dover-Foxcroft Caregiver Support Group | 2nd Tuesday of the month, 12 to 1:30 p.m. Piscataquis Regional YMCA, 48 Park St., Dover-Foxcroft, ME 04426 Suzanne Cote: 207.992.0145, scote@eaaa.org

Specialty Groups

 
  • Grief, Loss & Life After Dementia Virtual Group | 2nd Wednesday of the month, 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. AnneMarie Catanzano: amc04105@gmail.com
  • Maine Frontotemporal Dementia (FTD) Virtual Caregiver Support Group | 3rd Wednesday of the month, 2 to 4 p.m. Dorian Bannister: 207.671.5433, dbanniFTD@gmail.com
  • Living Well After Diagnosis In Person Group (A group for individuals living with early-stage dementia and their care partner) | 1st Tuesday of the month, 10:30 to 11:30 a.m. Alzheimer's Association, 383 US Rte One, Ste 2C, Scarborough, ME 04074 Bill Jenks: 207.650.0382, bjenks927@gmail.com
  • NEW! LGBTQ Caregiver Support Group | 3rd Wednesday of the month, 4 to 5:30 p.m., The Park Danforth, 777 Stevens Ave, Portland, ME 04103  Albert L’Etoile: 207.245.6297, letoilea@parkdanforth.com
 

Virtual Caregiver Support Groups*


*Attendance accepted regardless of geographical location

*Contact facilitator listed for Zoom link

 

  • Biddeford Area Caregiver Support Group | Hybrid | 2nd Monday of the month, 3 to 4:30 p.m. In-person and also on Zoom. J. Richard Martin Community Center, 189 Alfred St., Biddeford, ME 04005 Barbara Alberda: 207.713.3723, balberda@gwi.net 
  • Sebago Lake Area Caregiver Support Group | 1st Sunday of the month, 2 to 3:30 p.m. Zoom & also in-person, Raymond Village Community Church, 27 Main St., Raymond, ME 04071 Alice Oldford: aoldford@yahoo.com, 863.273.2166
  • Bath/Brunswick Area Caregiver Support Group | 1st Monday of the month, 10:30 a.m to 12 noon. Gri Font-Mason: 207.729.8571, gri@respite-care.org 
  • Cumberland County Virtual Caregiver Support Group | 2nd Tuesday of the month, 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. AnneMarie Catanzano: amc04105@gmail.com
  • Southern / Midcoast ME Virtual Caregiver Support Group | 2nd Friday of the month, 10 to 11:30 a.m. Carol Norris: 207.350.2721, norrisca@myfairpoint.net
  • Midcoast Maine Virtual Caregiver Support Group-Evening | 1st Tuesday of the month, 6 to 7:30 p.m. Cheri Blouin: 207.301.6237, cheri.blouin@mainehealth.org
  • Lewiston Caregiver Support Group | Last Thursday of the month, 3 to 4:30 p.m. Both Zoom & in-person, SeniorsPlus, 8 Falcon Rd, Lewiston, ME 04240. Heather Komulainen: 207.440.2376, hkomulainen@seniorsplus.org
  • Central Maine Virtual Caregiver Support Group (Bangor) | 3rd Wednesday of the month, 6 to 7 p.m. Tammy Leland: 207.478.2059, tamera.leland@gmail.com
  • Central Maine Virtual Caregiver Support Group (Ellsworth) | 3rd Thursday of the month, 2 to 3:30 p.m. Meghan Milliard: 207.941.2865, mmilliard@eaaa.org