Share or Print this page

Get the support you need. Meet safely with others for supportive, meaningful discussion led by a trained facilitator. Support groups are available throughout Maine for caregivers or for people living with early memory loss.

If you have any questions or would like to be connected with any Maine support groups, contact Amy Angelo at 207.772.0115 or alangelo@alz.org

Southern Maine


In Person

  • Biddeford Area Caregiver Support Group | Hybrid | 2nd Monday of the month, 3:00 PM - 4:40 PM. J. Richard Martin Community Center, 189 Alfred St. Biddeford, ME. Barbara Alberda: 207.713.3723, balberda@tcmhs.org
  • Kennebunk-Wells Area Caregiver Support Group | 4th Tuesday of the month, 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM. Home Instead- 71 Post Rd. Wells, ME. Amy Giovannani or Jeri Bogan: 207.985.9025
  • Falmouth Area Caregiver Support Group | 3rd Wednesday of the month, 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM. Sedgewood Commons- 22 Northbrook Dr. Falmouth, ME. Patricia Burke: 207.782.5775, patricia.burke@genesishcc.com   
  • Portland Office of Elder Affairs-Barron Center Caregiver Support Group | 4th Friday of the month, 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM. Adult Day Center Bldg 1145 Brighton Ave. Portland, ME. Sally Donelson: 207.232.6235, sm.donelson@gmail.com
Virtual 
 
  • Cumberland County Virtual Caregiver Support Group | 2nd Tuesday of the month, 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM. AnneMarie Catanzano: amc04105@gmail.com
  • Greater Portland Virtual Support Group | 2nd Friday of the month, 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM. Sally Donelson: 207.232.6235, sm.donelson@gmail.com

Midcoast Region


Virtual
 
  • Bath/Brunswick Caregiver Support Group | 1st & 3rd Monday of the month, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM. Nancy Herk: 207.729.8571, nancyh@respite-care.org
  • Midcoast Maine Virtual Caregiver Support Group-Afternoon | 3rd Tuesday of the month, 3:00 PM - 4:30 PM. Cheri Blouin: 207.921.6327, cheri.blouin@mainegeneral.org
  • Midcoast Maine Virtual Caregiver Support Group-Evening | 1st Tuesday of the month, 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM. Cheri Blouin: 207.921.6327, cheri.blouin@mainegeneral.org

Lakes and Mountains Region


In Person
 
  • Lewiston Caregiver Support Group | 2nd Monday of the month, 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM. SeniorsPlus- 8 Falcon Rd. Lewiston, ME. Dana Morrell: 207.795.4010, dmorrell@seniorsplus.org
  • Norway Caregiver Support Group | 4th Thursday of the month, 2:30 PM - 4:00 PM. SeniorsPlus- 9 Marston St. Norway, ME. Valerie Cole: 207.795.4010, vcole@seniorsplus.org
  • Wilton Caregiver Support Group | 1st Thursday of the month, 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM. SeniorsPlus- 284 Maine St. Wilton, ME. Janis Sabin: 795-4010 x 3724, jsabin@seniorsplus.org

Central Maine


In Person

  • Gardiner Caregiver Support Group | 1st Wednesday of the month, 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM. Alzheimer’s Care Center-154 Dresden Ave. Gardiner, ME. Shauna Buckmore: 207.626.1834, shauna.soucy@mainegeneral.org or Vanessa Broga: 207.588.3525, vanessa.broga@mainegeneral.org
  • Brewer Caregiver Support Group | 2nd Friday of the month, 9:00 AM - 10:30 AM. Eastern Area Agency on Aging- 274 State St. Brewer, ME. Meghan Milliard: 207.941.2865, mmilliard@eaaa.org
  • Millinocket Caregiver Support Group | 4th Wednesday of the month, 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM. Millinocket Public Library- 5 Maine Ave. Millinocket, ME. Meghan Milliard: 207.941.2865, mmilliard@eaaa.org
  • Orono Area Caregiver Support Group | 3rd Wednesday of the month, 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM. The Arbor at Dirigo Pines- 9 Alumni Dr. Orono, ME. Judy Tredwell: 207.889.9025, jbtredwell@roadrunner.com
Virtual
 
  • Central Maine Virtual Caregiver Support Group (Bangor) | 3rd Wednesday of the month, 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM. Tammy Leland: 207-478-2059, tleland@nathealthcare.com or Diane Estes: 207.942.7336, diestes@constellationhs.com
  • Central Maine Virtual Caregiver Support Group (Ellsworth) | 3rd Thursday of the month, 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM. Meghan Milliard: 207.941.2865, mmilliard@eaaa.org

Northern Maine


In Person

  • Fort Kent Caregiver Support Group | 1st Wednesday of the month, 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM. Forest Hills Nursing & Rehabilitation Center- 25 Bolduc Ave. Fort Kent, ME. Melissa Cyr: 207.834.1834

Piscataquis


In Person

  • Dover-Foxcroft Caregiver Support Group | 2nd Tuesday of the month, 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM. Piscataquis Regional YMCA- 48 Park St. Dover-Foxcroft, ME. Suzanne Cote: 207.992.0145, scote@eaaa.org

Specialty Groups

 
  • Grief, Loss & Life After Dementia Virtual Group | 2nd Wednesday of the month, 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM. AnneMarie Catanzano: amc04105@gmail.com
  • Maine Frontotemporal Dementia (FTD) Virtual Caregiver Support Group | 3rd Wednesday of the month, 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM. Dorian Bannister: 207.671.5433, dbanniFTD@gmail.com
  • Living Well After Diagnosis In Person Group (A group for individuals living with early-stage dementia and their care partner) | 1st Tuesday of the month, 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM. 383 US Rte One Ste 2C, Scarborough, ME. Bill Jenks: 207.839.0441, bjenks@homeinstead.com