Share or Print this page

The people of our chapter are dedicated staff and volunteers, all working to make life better for individuals living with Alzheimer's, for their families, and for future generations.


Chapter Leadership Team
Elizabeth Edgerly, PhD - Executive Director
Dagmar Schildwach - Chief Development Officer
Claire Day - Chief Program Officer
Eric Dowdy - Vice President of Public Policy and Advocacy 
Stella De La Pena - Director - Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Cheryl Brunk - Health Systems Director
Michael Castillo - Senior Director, Marketing & Communications 
Shelley Dombroski - Senior Regional Director
Lynn Duisenberg - Operations Manager 

Chapter Board of Directors
Our chapter is governed by a volunteer board of directors, responsible for planning, creating and implementing strategies and tactics in service to our mission.

Nancy Westcott, Chair
Donna Petkanics, Vice Chair
Anne Hinton, Secretary
Marcy Adelman, PhD
Steven Barbieri
Gabriel de la Rosa
Michael Fox
Gene Girimonte
Jacqueline Kane
Jeanette Latta
Michelle Makino
Marc Loupe
Michelle Makino
Teresa Mandella
Barbara Marquez
Courtney Russell McCrea
Todd Morris
Lennart Mucke, M.D., Ex-Officio
Jennifer Powell
Diane Riccio, Ph.D.
Scott A. Ryles
Tammy Sanders
Cece Sellgren
Kim Steppe
Timothy Swords
Valerie Toler, RN
John Travis
Randall Yip

Chapter Medical and Scientific Advisory Council
The Bay Area is home to three of the nation’s Alzheimer’s disease research centers: UCSF, Stanford, and UC Davis. Scientists and clinicians from these and other highly regarded institutions serve on our chapter’s medical and scientific advisory board.

Lennart Mucke, MD, chair 
Charles DeCarli, MD
Michael Greicius, MD
Victor Henderson, MD
Ladson Hinton, MD
William Jagust, MD
Frank Longo, MD, PhD
Tony Wyss-Coray, PhD
Kristine Yaffe, MD
Gil Rabinovici, MD
Kate Possin, PhD
Mike Weiner, MD
Yadong Huang, MD, PhD
Geoffrey A. Kerchner, MD, PhD
Claire Day, Chief Program Officer

Black Alzheimer's Association Advisory Council (BAAAC)

April Bolin, LCSW
Donna Griggs-Murphy
Gregory Woods, PHN
Gwen Gates
Rev. Kwasi Thornell 
LoWanda Moore, MSW
Portia Stewart
Shaun Charles 
Harold Pierre, PhD
Barbara Bowman, PhD 
Al Waters
Teri Carlyle