The Longest Day 2018
Home | News | Events | Press | Contact  

About UseNewsletterMessage BoardsAction CenterAdvocateWalk to End Alzheimer’sShopDonate

Find your chapter:

search by state

In My Community

Weekly e-news

We will not share your information.

About Our Chapter
Text Size controlsNormal font sizeMedium font sizeLarge font size


To eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research; to provide and enhance care and support for all affected; and to reduce the risk of dementia through the promotion of brain health.

Chapter Brochure
Annual Report 2016
Form 990
Fact Sheet
Strategic Plan
Board of Directors
Areas Served
Office Locations
Employment Opportunities



A world without Alzheimer's

About the North Central Chapter

The Alzheimer’s Association - North Central Texas Chapter is affiliated with the national Alzheimer's Association, headquartered in Chicago, Illinois. The North Central Texas Chapter covers a 40-county service area. Fort Worth serves as headquarters for the chapter which has regional offices in Abilene, Waco and Wichita Falls.

The Alzheimer's Association--North Central Texas Chapter is a tax-exempt, 501(c)(3) nonprofit, donor-supported organization. Programs and services are made possible through contributions from individuals, corporations and foundations. The chapter uses 77% of all funds raised for programs, services and research efforts.


The Alzheimer's Disease and Related Disorders Association, Inc., a 501 (c) 3 organization, was founded in 1980. At a time when the general public had little familiarity with Alzheimer's disease, the national organization was established when various small, local groups came together around common concerns related to this long term, devastating disease. The mission of the Alzheimer's Association has always been twofold: To eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research and to enhance care and support for individuals, their families, and caregivers. Nationally, the Alzheimer's Association is the oldest and largest national voluntary health organization committed to combating Alzheimer's disease.

In North Central Texas, local groups consisting chiefly of family members and a few professionals were established in Fort Worth in 1982, in Abilene in 1984, in Waco in 1984 and in Wichita Falls in 1989. Eventually, the groups in Abilene, Fort Worth and Wichita Falls each incorporated and became affiliates of the national Alzheimer's Association. The three operated as separate chapters of the Alzheimer's Association until July 1, 2001. At that time, driven by a national strategic plan, the Greater Wichita Falls Chapter and the West Central Texas Chapter (Abilene) merged with the Tarrant County Chapter (Fort Worth) to become the Alzheimer's Association - North Central Texas Chapter. The expanded chapter also took in the Waco area, where a new office was later established in March 2003.

Board of Directors

Chair-Julie Hunter
Vice Chair-Chris Lokey
Secretary-Gloria Steimel
Treasurer-Paul Morgan

David Armandariz
Elaine Bradshaw
Sam Brinkman, PhD
Grace Ann Durden
Joel East
Bill Falck
Cannon Flowers
Mike Grissom
Lisa Jamieson
Karen Telschow Johnson
Bryan McCaleb
David Mellina
Carol Montgomery
Dennis Myers
Meharvan "Sonny" Singh
Valerie Holloway Skinner
Becky Tucker
Michael Wade
Chris White

Back to top



Alzheimer's Association

Our vision: A world without Alzheimer's disease®.
Formed in 1980, the Alzheimer's Association is the world's leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research.