Founder and 2022 Gala Co-Chair

Princess Yasmin Aga Khan

Founder and Gala Co-Chair

Founded by Princess Yasmin Aga Khan in honor of her mother, Rita Hayworth, who died as a result of Alzheimer’s disease, the first Rita Hayworth Gala was held in New York in 1984. The event expanded to Chicago in 1987. Combined, the Rita Hayworth Galas have raised more than $80 million for the cause.

2022 Gala Co-Chair

Phoebe Stone Nitekman

Steering Committee Member

Phoebe is excited to be co-chairing the 2022 Rita Hayworth Gala with Yasmin Aga Khan. She chaired the 2008 gala with her extended family and has been a member of the Steering Committee ever since. Phoebe started the Young Champions Committee, which involves a younger generation of donors attending the gala. In addition to the Alzheimer’s Association Rita Hayworth Gala Steering Committee, Phoebe also serves on the Children’s Research Fund to benefit Lurie Children’s Hospital. Professionally, Phoebe has degrees in child development and social work and works in the Panda Care Center of Hope at Lurie Children’s Hospital. In her free time, Phoebe plays tennis and volunteers at the Latin School of Chicago. She lives in Chicago with her husband Michael and 3 children, Annabel, Joey and Natalie, and her puppy Cali.

Gala Steering Committee

Jaclyn Cantore
Michelle Carter
Ana Cummins
Mark Desky
Susan & Jim Draddy
Pat Garrison
Tara Gibney
Julie Gordon
Allie & Jon Harris
Corey Fitzpatrick Huth
Gail Joseph
Paul Keidan
Zahir Lavji
Fifi & Ron Levin
Sharon & Scott Markman
Abby & Tyson May
Leslie & David McGranahan
Blythe & David Mendelson
Linda & Bob Mendelson
David Moscow
The Murphy Family: Dan, JoAnn, Dan & Jim
Maggie & Michael Murzanski
Phoebe & Michael Nitekman
Sadruddin Noorani
Debra & Michael Pelech
Joan & Paul Rubschlager
Amy & Stuart Savitz
Kathy Schmalen-Abbene
Lori Stern
Leslie & David Storch
Barbie & Bruce Taylor
Holly & Jeffrey Taylor

Frequently Asked Questions

Learn about the COVID-19 precautions we’re taking, as well as how to become a gala sponsor or make a donation.

Young Champions Committee

Carly & Scott Bernstein
Johh Chwarzynski
Al Dhalla
Megan, Shea, Sara & Jimmy Draddy
Buddy & Ryan Erwin
Julie & Ben Hockenberg
Kelanie, Bradley & Charles Huth
Alison Jurek
Kelly Morgan
Jim Murphy
Rachel Winer & Michael Storch
Ebrahim & Rozmin Valliani

#RitaHayworthGala #ENDALZ

The Alzheimer’s Association offers a variety of special events in cities across the country.