March 16, 2022
The Honorable Frank Pallone
House Energy & Commerce Committee
Cannon House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers
House Energy & Commerce Committee 237
1035 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
The Honorable Patty Murray
Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions
428 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
The Honorable Richard Burr
Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions
428 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Pallone, Ranking Member McMorris Rodgers, Chairman Murray and Ranking Member Burr:

We write today to convey our strong support for FDA’s Accelerated Approval pathway and to convey to Congress the importance of preserving and strengthening this critical tool for bringing therapies to patients currently living with unmet medical need. At each turn when Congress has legislated on accelerated approval the pathway has been reaffirmed and the Agency has been encouraged to fully harness the promise of the pathway on behalf of patients. Lives have been saved, extended and improved.

Millions of American families are grateful for these past actions by Congress and fully expect this Congress to continue to support and encourage the use of accelerated approval for all of the patients who today live with unmet medical needs. Who are these patients? They are Americans living with rare diseases, 95% of which currently have no approved treatments. They are Americans living with conditions like Alzheimer’s where treatments are just beginning to emerge but the unmet need remains vast or diabetes where treatments have emerged but there are still unmet needs in disease modifying therapies to address the underlying autoimmunity in type 1 diabetes. They are Americans, many of whom are children, whose disease progression means that the loss of certain core functions and mobility cannot be recovered if novel therapies take too long to clear the regulatory process. They are Americans for whom a curative treatment is on the horizon through game changing cell and gene therapies. And the list goes on.

As you begin consideration of the FDA User Fee reauthorization the undersigned organizations and our broader community of patients and families wants to be clear about our unequivocal support for preserving the accelerated approval pathway and ensuring that all patients living with unmet need, regardless of their specific condition, can continue to have confidence in the FDA’s utilization of the pathway.

We stand ready to support any effort you may undertake to reaffirm Congress’ ongoing support for accelerated approval. Just as we stand ready to support those efforts, we also stand ready to defend the pathway against any efforts that would intentionally or unintentionally limit FDA’s ability to utilize the pathway or any efforts that would essentially undermine the use of or confidence in the pathway. HIV went from a death sentence to a chronic disease because of accelerated approval. Many cancers have been beaten back due to accelerated approval. It is only reasonable to continue to offer that same hope and deliver on the same results for the millions of patients still living with unmet need.

Robert Egge
Chief Public Policy Officer, Alzheimer’s Association
Executive Vice President, Alzheimer’s Impact Movement
Cynthia Rice
Chief Mission Strategy Officer, JDRF

Rep. Bobby Rush
Rep. Tom O’Halleran
Rep. John Curtis
Rep. Anna Eshoo
Rep. Kathleen Rice
Rep. Debbie Lesko
Rep. Diana DeGette
Rep. Angie Craig
Rep. Greg Pence
Rep. Michael Doyle
Rep. Kim Schier
Rep. Dan Crenshaw
Rep. Janice Schakowsky
Rep. Lori Trahan
Rep. John Joyce
Rep. G.K. Butterfield
Rep. Lizzie Fletcher
Rep. Kelly Armstrong
Rep. Doris Matsui
Rep. Fred Upton
Rep. Kathy Castor
Rep. Michael Burgess
Rep. John Sarbanes
Rep. Steve Scalise
Rep. Jerry McNerney
Rep. Robert Latta
Rep. Peter Welch
Rep. Brett Guthrie
Rep. Paul Tonko
Rep. David McKinley
Rep. Yvette Clarke
Rep. Adam Kinzinger
Rep. Kurt Schrader
Rep. Morgan Griffith Rep. Tony Cardenas
Rep. Gus Bilirakis
Rep. Paul Ruiz
Rep. Bill Johnson
Rep. Debbie Dingell
Rep. Scott Peters
Rep. Billy Long
Rep. Larry Bucshon
Rep. Marc Veasey
Rep. Markwayne Mullin
Rep. Ann Kuster
Rep. Richard Hudson
Rep. Robin Kelly
Rep. Tim Walberg
Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragan
Rep. Earl Carter
Rep. Donald McEachin
Rep. Jeff Duncan
Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester
Rep. Gary Palmer
Rep. Darren Soto
Rep. Neal Dunn
Senator Bernie Sanders
Senator Rand Paul, M.D.
Senator Robert Casey
Senator Susan Collins
Senator Tammy Baldwin
Senator Bill Cassidy, M.D.
Senator Christopher Murphy
Senator Lisa Murkowski
Senator Tim Kaine
Senator Mike Braun
Senator Maggie Hassan
Senator Rodger Marshall, M.D.
Senator Tina Smith
Senator Tim Scott
Senator Jacky Rosen
Senator Mitt Romney
Senator Ben Ray Lujan
Senator Tommy Tuberville
Senator John Hickenlooper
Senator Jerry Moran